skip navigation


By VFC, 02/12/18, 3:00PM CST


NPSL Lone Star Conference announces 2018 schedule

9 team conference to feature 10-game schedule

FORT WORTH, TX _ The NPSL Lone Star Conference announced its 2018 schedule today highlighted by an expanded 9-team conference and a premium on regional rivalries.

Conference play begins May 5 and features a 10-match schedule prior to the conference playoffs.

All teams will play each other once plus an additional two matches against neighboring clubs to emphasize nearby rivalries.

“The Lone Star Conference reigns as one of the top in the nation and simply improved this offseason with three new clubs,” Vaqueros general manager Tobias Xavier Lopez said. “The team that emerges from our conference will be an immediate contender for the national title. The schedule favors us with five Saturday matches at historic Farrington Field this summer.”

The conference was divided into a trio of “pods” to allow home-and-away matches against nearby teams. The Laredo Heat, FC Brownsville and Houston Regals make up the Southern Pod. The Midland-Odessa Sockers FC, Fort Worth Vaqueros and FC Tyler encompass the Northern Pod while Houston Dutch Lions, Katy 1895 and Shreveport Rafters encapsulate the Eastern Pod.

The Conference featured six teams in 2017 but welcomed in Laredo, Brownsville and Katy for this summer.

The top two teams in each pod will reach the conference playoff with the top two seeds receiving a bye to the semifinal round. Conference Playoffs start with a wild card round (July 7) when 3rd Seed hosts 6th seed and 4th seed hosts 5th seed, semifinals (July 11) hosted by the top two seeds and championship round (July 14) hosted by the top remaining seed to determine the conference champion.

The Lone Star Conference winner will head north to face the Heartland Conference champions in the Semi-final round of the South Region Playoffs.